Roasted Pineapple Bread Pudding

There’s nothing more that I love than a good bread pudding. I challenged myself to make a paleo version to suit my current lifestyle, and added a bit of pizzaz here and there to make it my own.

For the Roasted Pineapple
1 pineapple (I let mine ripen until it was fairly sweet)
12oz Can of 100% Pineapple Juice (I used bluebird)
1/2 Cup Coconut Sugar

First, break down your pineapple by skinning it, then cutting it in half, then quarters, then make sure to take out the core. I suggest you use a serrated knife if you have one as I find it easier to use when I’m trying to make clean cuts through my pineapples.

Dry caramelise the coconut sugar, and I assure you this is actually possible. I wasn’t too sure what I was walking into when I used coconut sugar, as it behaves very differently than normal sugar when heated. When it’s hot enough, it’ll become sort of like a brown paste and smell kind of nutty, and thats when you want to throw in your pineapple.

Note that your coconut sugar will seize and form rock hard clumps of sugar because of the added moisture from the pineapple, but this is totally fine, keep going! Once your pineapples have taken on a bit of colour from the sugar (about 1-2 minutes), pour in your pineapple juice.

The rest of this takes a good deal of patience, but it will taste wonderful once it’s done. Transfer your pineapple, liquid and spices to your crockpot and roast on low for around 2 hours. Alternatively you can use your oven at a temperature of 300°F (150°C). Baste your pineapples with the roasting liquid every 30 minutes until done.

For the Bread Pudding
1 loaf Paleo Sandwich Bread (I used the Roasted Root’s recipe, linked for you.)
5 Eggs
12 oz Can Coconut Milk
1/4 Cup Pineapple Roasting Liquid
2T Raw Honey
TT Roasted Pineapple
TT Cranberries (Eden Organic Apple Sweetened)

Beat eggs, then add your coconut milk, pineapple roasting liquid, honey and mix until homogenous. Cut up your bread into cubes, or you can tear apart, whatever you fancy and put into the wet ingredients with your cubed roasted pineapple, and cranberries.

I added a dash of cinnamon for flavour. Put it in your desired dish (I used a foil tin), and bake at 350°F (175°C) for 50-55 minutes until the bread is slightly golden, and your custard is completely set with no runny bits when you stick a fork (or a skewer) into it.

Serving Suggestions: try it warmed up or fresh from the oven with coconut-banana ice cream over top.

 

